St Cuthbert’s was founded in 1881 by Bishop Chadwick and Bishop Bewick and soon settled into a site on Bath Lane. The school moved in 1922 to our current site which is built on the line of Hadrian’s Wall. During the Second World War the school was evacuated to Cumbria. In 1977 the school became a comprehensive and has continued to develop since then. The school has since moved into new buildings on the same site, providing facilities for a twenty first century education.
Whilst we are justifiably proud of our rich heritage and of the achievements of old boys in a number of areas of public life, our focus is on the present and the future.
We provide an enriched education for all students, in modern purpose-built facilities, allowing for progression onto a wide range of careers.